Enter your keyword


ICT50220 Diploma of Information Technology (Cyber security)

Course Information
Qualification:ICT50220 Diploma of Information Technology
CRICOS Course Code:105201G
Duration:78 Weeks including breaks
Study Type:Full time: 15 hours face-to-face and 5 hours online per week


Choice of elective units to achieve a specialisation as set out in the packaging rules are as below:

  • Cyber security
  • Advance It Support & Networking
CodeUnits of CompetencyCore/Elective
BSBCRT512Originate and develop conceptsCore
ICTSAS527Manage Client ProblemsCore
BSBXCS402Promote Workplace Cyber Security awareness and best PracticesCore
BSBXTW401Lead & Facilitate a TeamCore
ICTICT517Match ICT needs with the strategic direction of the organisationCore
ICTICT532Apply IP, ethics, and Privacy Policies in an ICT EnvironmentsCore
ICTWEB513Build dynamic websitesElective
ICTICT523Gather data to identify business requirementsElective
ICTSAS518Install and upgrade operating systemsElective
ICTNWK546Manage network securityElective
ICTPRG530 Manage projects using software management toolsElective
ICTSAS517 Use network toolsElective
ICTICT440Develop service level agreementsElective
ICTTEN622Prodouce ICT network architecture designsElective
ICTCYS608Perform cyber security risk assessmentsElective
ICTCYS407 Gather, analyse and interpret threat dataSpecialisation
ICTCYS610 Protect critical infrastructure for organisationsSpecialisation
ICTSAS524Develop, implement and evaluate an incident response planSpecialisation
ICTSAS526 Review and update disaster recovery and contingency plansSpecialisation
ICTCYS613 Utilise design methodologies for security architectureSpecialisation


The ICT50220 Diploma of Information Technology course reflects the role of individuals in a variety of information and communications technology (ICT) roles who have established specialised skills in a technical ICT function.
Individuals in these roles carry out moderately complex tasks in specialist fields, working independently, as part of a team or leading deliverables with others. They may apply their skills across a wide range of industries, business functions and departments, or as a business owner (sole trader/contractor).
The skills required for these roles may largely depend on the chosen specialization as followed:
• advanced networking: configuring and managing virtual computing environments, and security within ICT networks.
• advanced programming: applying intermediate and advanced programming skills, managing data, and building advanced user interfaces to manage organisational requirements.
• back end web development: developing and maintaining website information architecture and data.
• business analysis: designing and implementing technical requirements, quality assurance processes and contingency plans for businesses.
• cloud architecture: developing, improving, and designing cloud infrastructure, including disaster recovery plans.
• cloud engineering: building, implementing, and managing cloud infrastructure and virtual networks.
• cyber security: protecting sensitive data and information through security architecture and developing disaster recovery and contingency plans.
• database and data management: creating, designing, and monitoring systems that store data and optimise organisational knowledge management.
• game art and design: creating complex 2D and 3D modelling and animation software through scripts and storyboards.
• game programming: creating complex 2D and 3D interactive games and media, building graphical user interfaces and applying artificial intelligence in game development.
• systems administration: reviewing maintenance procedures and support to help troubleshoot system applications.
• systems analysis: modelling and testing data objects, data processes and preferred ICT system solutions.

WIN College is currently offering the specialization in cyber security but will offer more specializations in the future subject to demand of the specialization.


•Satisfactorily completion of Senior Secondary School (Australian Year 12 or equivalent) with sound literacy and numeracy skills
•IELTS band score of 5.5 or TOEFL 500 or equivalent
•Be 18 years of age or over.
•Students may enter the qualification with limited or no vocational experience and without a relevant lower-level qualification.

After achieving the ICT50220 Diploma of Information Technology, students may continue to study
• Advanced Diploma of Information Technology
• Bachelor of Information Technology (Network Security)
• Bachelor of Information Technology (Data Infrastructure)


Have you studied this topic before? We will recognise competencies gained through previous learning, work and life experiences.

Students can apply for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)/ Recognition of Current Competency (RCC) before they commence the course or a particular unit. Students will need to provide evidence that they are already competent in this/these specific unit/s. Email info@win.edu.au for further information.